JOURNAL OF THE AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION

Vol. XXIII JANUARY, 1934 No. 1

THE PRESIDENT OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGES OF PHARMACY.

L. D. Havenhill, the thirty-third president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, was born in the town of Big Grove, Kendall County, Illinois, April 5, 1870. His early education was obtained in the Kendall County rural schools and completed in the West Aurora, Illinois high school, from which he graduated in 1887.

The years 1890–1891 were spent in gaining practical experience in an Iowa drug store. He entered the University of Michigan School of Pharmacy in the fall of 1891 and a year and a half later passed the Michigan State Board of Pharmacy examination for registered pharmacist, but following graduation he accepted the invitation of Prof. A. B. Stevens to remain as his assistant in pharmacy for the following year and to complete the work for the degree of Master of Pharmacy. This work was completed in June 1894, in time to accept a position of assistant chemist for a year in Honolulu with Dr. A. B. Lyons. While there he made some of the first chemical analyses of the rich sugar cane lands of the island of Oahu. Upon the completion of this work with Dr. Lyons he spent several months in the laboratory of the government chemist, Dr. Walter Maxwell. Upon his return to the states he was employed for a time in a pharmacy in Aurora, Ill., but later became assistant chemist for the Chicago and Aurora Smelting and Refining Company.

In the fall of 1899 he was appointed assistant professor of pharmacy at the University of Kansas, a position which he held until 1907 when he was granted a leave of absence to take a position as food and drug inspection chemist with the U. S. Department of Agriculture under Dr. H. W. Wiley and Dr. L. F. Kebler. After a year at the appraiser's stores in New York City, he returned to the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy as professor of pharmacy and pharmaceutical chemistry. Following the death of Dean L. E. Sayre, in 1925, he succeeded to the deanship.

Dean Havenhill is a member of the Kansas Pharmaceutical Association

and is its librarian. He is a member of the American Pharmaceutical Association (1890), the American Chemical Society and the Kansas Academy of Science, and has held important offices in each. He is a member of the honorary scientific society of Sigma Xi and the Gesellschaft für Geschichte der Pharmazie. He is a member of the Committee on Recipe Book and is serving his second decennial term on the Revision Committee of the U. S. Pharmacopœia.

He is director of drug analysis for the Kansas State Board of Health and member of the referee committee on livestock remedies for the Kansas State Board of Agriculture. He has contributed articles to various pharmaceutical journals and is the author of *Pharmaceutical Arithmetic*, 1912, State Boards of Pharmacy Questions, 1917, and co-author (with L. E. Sayre) of Essentials of Pharmacy, 1918.

A WORD OF APPRECIATION.

THE office of the AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION and of the JOURNAL has been in Baltimore for the past eight years. During this time the writer has received many courtesies and made quite a number of friendships which he hopes will continue for many years. Baltimore is known for its hospitalities and has a good pharmaceutical history; its pharmacists represent not only the ideals of pharmacy, but the members of the profession give expression to their views on important questions and seek to advance pharmacy and its service.

It is hoped that the foregoing words are proper in this place; certainly, they are expressive of the writer's appreciation.

OFFICERS-ELECT FOR 1934-1935.

The Board of Canvassers of the American Pharmaceutical Association, composed of W. F. Rudd, Chairman, W. G. Crockett and A. L. I. Winne, all of Richmond, Va., has announced as the result of the mail ballot for officers of the Association, the election of the following:

President, Robert P. Fischelis, Trenton, N. J.

First Vice-President, George D. Beal, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Second Vice-President, Oscar Rennebohm, Madison, Wis.

Members of the Council (for three years), H. A. B. Dunning, Baltimore, Md.; S. L. Hilton, Washington, D. C.; W. Bruce Philip, Washington, D. C.

These officers will be installed at the next annual meeting of the Association which will be held in Washington, D. C., the time to be announced later.

"Whether the alleged victim be the small industry or the small enterprise, the effect of the national recovery program on its functioning should be studied with most assiduous fact-finding and fault-finding. The recovery undertaking cannot be expected to remove all the competitive disadvantages of small size, but it certainly must not be allowed to aggravate them."—Paint, Oil and Drug Reporter.